Where Magic Takes You

Perhaps you got a Magic Kit as a kid. Maybe that’s what got you started. Maybe you saw a magician at a party and you got the bug there. It doesn’t matter how it started, it’s like falling in love. The attraction becomes stronger. Some people lose interest, but for those who don’t, its magic. You may not make it your career. Probably that’s a good choice because it isn’t easy. No matter how good you are, it’s a hard business to break into. But that doesn’t mean it can’t take you places. It can make you a hero to your grandchildren or even your boss!

Someone came in the other day looking to buy magic. He said he used to come here often as a kid with his father and he had a list and would buy the stuff on his list. It was a great time for him. Then he grew up and had other things on his mind, but he never gave up the magic. He fooled around with cards and coins and other close up stuff that he had. One day his boss came into his office and saw a deck of cards on his desk. He works for a big company.

“What are the cards for?” he asked.

“Oh, let me show you.”

He did a trick for him and blew him away.

“I didn’t know you did magic!

“Well, now you know.”

“We’re having a conference in a few weeks, maybe you’ll do some magic there.”

“Sure.”

So this fellow goes about practicing up on his walk around magic and one day his boss comes up to him and says, “By the way, just let me know what kind of lighting you need or tables, etc. Whatever you need.

” Just a minute. What kind of magic do you expect me to do?”

” Oh, you’ll be on stage for about 30 or 40 minutes. They’ll be over 100 people.”

“I thought I would just walk around and do magic for small groups at a time.”

“Oh no. We want a magic show.”

I guess it’s hard to say no to your boss.  This customer has the personality for it. He pleasant, outgoing, and a great sense of humour. All we have to do now is put a show together for him. We’ll try to steer him in the right direction.

To be continued….

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Where Magic Takes You

  1. I’m glad this gentleman has the personality for it! He certainly has the right people supporting him at Perfect Magic!

    If I had been in his shoes I would’ve gone into cardiac arrest as soon as I understood the request was for stage show LOL 🙂

    Like

  2. I’ve been doing magic practically my whole life but it has never been my full time job. What it has done is given me a ton of skills that I take to my job. Things like presentation skills, the ability to ad lib and even the ability to sell.

    I hope he knocks’em dead!

    Let us know how he makes out Evy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment