What’s YOUR Favourite Magic Trick?

People often ask me when they come into the shop “What’s your favourite magic trick?” You may think my answer is ridiculous after all the tricks I have in the shop, but it’s the Svengali Deck.Svengali.jpg It’s shocking to anyone who isn’t already a magician. And that’s who you should be concerned about. You’re not out to fool other magicians.  It’s those other people you are after.
pimp.jpg

If you want to fool magicians your best bet is a Pimpernel Wallet, if they don’t already have it. The most incredible thing happens here, beyond belief, if I may say so, and so would anyone who has it.  Most people of the younger generation don’t, and it recently resurfaced. That would be my second favourite.

Scotch & Soda comes third as everything happens in the spectator’s hands. It comes in various versions such as Magnetic Scotch & Soda Tango and others. See Scotch and Soda.scotch mag.jpg

Are these the best tricks in the world? To me yes, because I’m not really a magician. Over the years I have learned a trick or two. I can’t recall anyone who didn’t buy the Svengali deck after I did it. There is amazing stuff in the magic market now, but as they say, you can’t teach an old dog new tricks. I did get one, however,  from Alvin Ling that I really liked, with a new twist and is not difficult. Those are the operative word here, not difficult. It’s a prediction, but it has a lot of appeal. It’s called Magic Prediction and I only have a few and it’s not in the catalog yet, but if you drop in, it’s here. If you were at the Festival de Magie in Quebec City a few weeks ago you probably bought it as its hard to resist and Alvin was selling them there.

We’ll talk about parlour and stage favourites another day. Meanwhile what’s your favourite close-up trick and why? We’re a community and I’m sure your fellow magicians would love to hear from you, so share!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “What’s YOUR Favourite Magic Trick?

  1. I had the pleasure of helping Tony Eng with his Trick & Joke Shop in Victoria some years ago. One of our favourite demos was the Svengali Deck, too.
    We sold tons of them! Some of the less expensive ones came separated in the box, so we had to set them up in proper order. It helped pass the time of day when there were no customers in the shop.
    We also made and sold a lot of Professor’s Nightmare. Tony and I had different story lines when we domo’d it.

    Like

  2. Yes, we tend to forget how good the old stuff is. Great to hear from you.

    Like

Leave a comment