Magic Sent Me Back To the Magic Shop

As most of you know, I have been away from the Perfect Magic since early February when I was informed by my doctor that I had cancer. I have been in and out of the hospital since then.  I am convinced I will not die of cancer; maybe from the Chemo treatments but not from the cancer!!!

I was supposed to have a robotic operation to remove the cancer in May but due to my reaction to the Chemo it had been put off. The last time I was sent home from the hospital, I did a lot of bed rest, TV watching and playing games on my iphone. I went to the park when the weather was good, but was told to stay away from crowds as my immune system was compromised by the Chemo. I tired easily and got to know my bed really well.

Then the magic happened. My son Brian and his wife Denyce, who now live in Pennsylvania, and their two Pyreneese Mountain dogs came in for a visit. Julie (my daughter) made Friday night dinner and we all got together. For the first time since my cancer business started, I felt well. My tiredness disappeared. I became alive again. It was then that I realized that my feeling of well being was psychological and made up my mind I was not going back to that place. On the way home I told Phil I was going to the shop with him on Tuesday. He thought I was crazy but I insisted.

He tried to prepare me that he didn’t have a chance to clean up. He wasn’t kidding. Boxes were everywhere.  I got rid of all the empty boxes, tidied up the place and rearranged the shelves. Of course I didn’t do all that in one day. I’ve been coming in with him every Tuesday and Thursday since then which was about a month ago and have been feeling just fine. I was amazed at all the new magic that came in.

I answered the phone once and the customer said he was so glad to hear my voice and he missed my blogs, so here I am. Another customer came in to pick up some stuff and left and came back an hour later to tell me he forgot to mention how happy he was that I was back.

Today I saw my doctor and he said everything was fine and I should be having my robotic operation next week or the following week at the latest. They do 2 robotic operations a day. If I’m the first, I go home the same day and if I’m the second, I sleep over at the hospital. Frankly I don’t care which it is, as long as I get it over with. I thank you all for your good wishes that you sent and appreciate them. If you get a chance, drop in and say hello.

 

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Magic Sent Me Back To the Magic Shop

  1. bruce munro

    Good luck with the operation, Both my wife and I are cancer free now. You will be too.
    Take care , Bruce
    ________________________________

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So nice to hear how positive-minded you’ve been keeping, Evy, and that you are managing to keep your good feeling and stamina up, in spite of the challenges. 👏🏻 Nice that Brian and his wife and their two furry children travelled up for a visit, too. We did miss your blogs, and we are glad to know you have been back in the store in an effort to keep the shelves organized and protect Phil from contracting ECBS syndrome (…”empty cardboard box syndrome”). Over the next few days Monique and I will be sending you our good thoughts towards a successful operation and towards a smooth and quick-healing recovery! After all, we magicians are especially able to do this… send good thoughts through time and space —through the ether! 🙂 So please keep us posted, once you feel ready too. ✨

    Like

  3. Elaine Malus

    So happy you are back and the blogs that I love will be posted.. I wish you well but it seems like everything will be fine ..

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So nice to hear how positive-minded you’ve been keeping, Evy, and that you are managing to keep your good feeling and stamina up, in spite of the challenges. 👏🏻 Nice that Brian and his wife and their two furry children travelled up for a visit, too. We did miss your blogs, and we are glad to know you have been back in the store in an effort to keep the shelves organized and protect Phil from contracting ECBS syndrome (…”empty cardboard box syndrome”). Over the next few days Monique and I will be sending you our good thoughts towards a successful operation and towards a smooth and quick-healing recovery! After all, we magicians are especially able to do this… send good thoughts through time and space —through the ether! 🙂 So please keep us posted, once you feel ready too. ✨

    Like

  5. Yves Duquette

    Do take care and come back better than ever… xx

    Like

  6. Jack Poulter

    Best wishes, from Victoria BC, for a speedy recovery.

    Like

  7. Dale

    Glad to hear you are on the mend. Spoke to Denyce & she said you were doing ok. Good luck with the op & hope to hear that everything went well

    Like

  8. I think everyone missed the point of the blog, so I’ll break it down. My wife and I just have the magic! (Kidding). Was a great visit, will be even better next time. Let us know when Montréal is fixed,

    Love,
    Brian.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Wait! Who broke Montreal??!! I live in Vermont and don’t get there often (I think it’s been 14 years since I’ve visited the Magic shop (that’s because I spent six years in Florida (I have now learned to hate Florida LOL) and then when I returned to Vermont (my real home) in 2012, a standard VT driver’s license would no longer get you across the border and I had no passport. In 2018 I finally got paperwork so I can cross the border (my life moves at a glacial pace). When your mom is feeling better I hope to spend a lot of time at the shop annoying your parents 😉 Anyway, I really liked Montreal when I visited. Now it’s ruined?? “Say it ain’t so!” I spent a ton of time at the shop in the 2003-2004 timeframe because I took three of Guy Camirand’s magic classes. Wonderful memories.

    Should I call the Canadian prime minister? Montreal must be fixed!

    PS: Evy: I’m SO glad to hear that Brian and family have magical healing powers! I can also share that from painful experience I learned long ago that being too isolated is bad, and also that being around good people is VERY HEALING! Keep up the great work (and rest)! Tell Phil to keep creating boxes for you to break down LOL.

    I’m so glad to hear that your recovery is going well!
    Blessings,
    Paul Kruse

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s wonderful to hear from you Paul. I’m feeling fine and am enjoying the company of Ronna, my eldest child who is in from Panama. I hope I don’t have to pull stunts like this to get my kids to visit me.
      As far as Montreal is concerned, just a few broken up streets here and there ( and everywhere) as they replace the infrastructure which has not been done since the city was built, but we manage.
      Thanks again for you email and we look forward to your visits to Montreal,
      Evy

      Like

  10. Cam Dix

    Dear Evelyn – You have been in my thoughts and will be especially this coming week. Today is Father’s Day, so best wishes to Phil. From Cam Dix in Toronto.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Welcome back, Evy.
    Wonderful to hear from you. Glad you are feeling better and hopefully everything goes well with a better year ahead!

    Greetings to Phil, and La Famille.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment