Daily Archives: April 24, 2013

Greg Kramer: Gone but not Forgotten

The passing of Greg Kramer, actor, magician, writer, musician was a tremendous shock to us because it was sudden. He was young, vibrant and brilliant.

Even when I heard it and knew he was gone, it didn’t sink in.

We had just seen him recently and his friend Peter Snow was in the shop one day and saw a set of linking rings that he knew Greg would love, and told us to  email Greg about them, which I did but he didn’t answer, which was unusual for him. I figured he was out of town and busy. Maybe Stratford, you never knew with him. Later Phil told me he knew he was busy at the Segal Center with his new play that he wrote, Shelock Holmes.

We missed the announcement of his death in the Gazette, which is strange because that’s the first thing Phil looks at every morning. Then Peter called and gave us the tragic news.

The other day we received an invitation to a gathering of Greg’s friends and family and were given an adress in the Plateau. We went, of course, and walking along the street flooded my mind with childhood memories, when we lived in the Plateau, with the winding staircases and three story flats. After the flats there was one small building, a synagogue, with Hebrew writing engraved in cement over the double door, and it had the address we were given. I stood at the door bewildered thinking, I didn’t even know he was Jewish. Then I pictured him with a skull cap and prayer shawl and thought, why not. Its possible. That’s what went through my mind as I stood at the synagogue door. It was locked. . I rang the bell. A man came to the door  and asked, Are you here for Greg? We said yes. He said come in, come in. It was someone’s home,  a beautiful home and it was full of people. I said,  “For a minute I thought Greg was Jewish.” No, he wasn’t Jewish. There were a lot of theatre people there. The host and hostess made us feel very welcome.

The guests were invited to speak if they wanted or show how they felt. It was clear to see how much he meant to so many people. He will be sorely missed.

Leave a comment

Filed under Greg Kramer